Home  |  Academics
  |  Department of Education
Bookmark and Share

Department of Education

The Maureen Kelly Hess Prize is awarded annually to a student who is graduating with a Bachelor of Arts degree in special education or a Master of Science degree with a concentration in special education. The education department faculty selects the prize recipient. This prize was established by the Hess and Kelly families in memory of Maureen Kelly Hess, Class of 1981, after her death in April 1993. The prize is awarded to Sarah Gonzales.

Sarah will graduate this May with a major in elementary/special education, as well as a minor in mathematics education. Furthermore, she is completing the Honors Program at Hood College. Sarah enthusiastically pursues these demanding courses of study and excels academically. She is an active member of the Student Education Association and a member of the national honor society for education majors, Kappa Delta Pi. Sarah’s expertise, creativity and enthusiasm will enable her to be an outstanding teacher.

The Park-Doff Award is presented to that student in the senior class who appears most promising as a teacher in the field of early childhood education. Classmates Sara Bell Parkhurst Van Why and Katherine Nixdorff Wilson, both Class of 1973 early childhood education majors, established this prize in 1974 to honor an outstanding student majoring in this field. No other prize existed at this time for ECE majors. Sydney Winn is this year’s recipient.

Sydney consistently strives to do her best in the classroom to meet student needs, tap student interests and ensure

that all children learn and thrive. Her mentor teachers have noted how she has developed into such a skillful and talented educator this year. She enthusiastically implements suggested activities immediately and is an excellent example of someone who puts her heart into teaching. Sydney is truly a gifted early childhood education teacher, and we wish her much success.

The Hypatia Mathematics/Science Education Prize is awarded to the education student who exemplifies excellence in the field of mathematics or science teaching. This prize, named for the female Greek mathematician who taught at the Library of Alexandria in the early fifth century, is awarded in honor of past Department of Education professors of mathematics and science pedagogy at Hood College. The prize is awarded to Alyssa Burdette.

This May, Alyssa will be graduating with a degree in mathematics and secondary education. As a dedicated and skilled student, she has received Convocation Honors, the Julia Holzapfel Carhart Prize in Mathematics, and the Hodson Trust Scholarship for Leadership and Academic Excellence. She is also a member of the Hood Honors Program. Alyssa completed her internship at Walkersville Middle School, and as a Frederick County native, she wishes to live locally and secure a position with Frederick County Public Schools. We are certain that we will continue to hear nothing but glowing reviews about her teaching.

The Charles E. Tressler Outstanding Student Award is given in recognition of outstanding achievement by a student who intends to enter a career in education. This award was established to honor the late Giles Professor Emeritus of Early Childhood Education Charles E. Tressler. Professor Tressler taught at Hood from 1964 to 1990 and served for many years as chair of the Department of Education. The award is a gift from the estate of Samuel Eig. This year’s recipient is Erica Hawkins.

Graduating this May with a degree in elementary/special education, Erica exempli es what professional teaching is all about. Her demeanor and interactions with her students and other educators are worthy of recognition. Erica is truly dedicated to the eld of education and works hard to ensure that her students are learning and growing. She demonstrates hard work, love of learning and love of children, all characteristics which guarantee her success as an outstanding future teacher.

The Johanna Chait Essex ’53 Prize in Early Childhood Education was established by the family of Johanna Chait Essex ’53 in honor of her 80th birthday. Johanna devoted her professional life to educating nursery school children. The prize is awarded annually to a junior who shows the most promise as an early childhood education teacher as evidenced by performance throughout the internship at the Onica Prall Child Development Laboratory School. Dominique Byrd is this recipient of this prize.

Dominique has been an intern in the Onica Prall Child Development Laboratory School this year and has assumed more and more responsibility for working with the children, whether in small groups or as a whole class. She is one who quickly and effectively puts into place what she has observed her mentor teachers do and has always shown a quiet, calm enthusiasm and delight in her class of students. Dominique demonstrates initiative, con dence and dedication in early childhood education, and we look forward to another year with her.