Home  |  Academics
  |  Department of Sociology and Social Work
Bookmark and Share

Department of Sociology and Social Work

The Wayne C. Neely Prize is named for the late Professor Wayne C. Neely, Andrew G. Truxal Professor of Economics and Sociology, and is offered annually for achievement and promise in the field of sociology. Professor Neely taught and served as department chair from 1933 to 1972; he died in 1994. Emma Stanley and Erinn Weidman are this year’s recipients.

Emma, from Frederick, Maryland, is graduating with a major in sociology and a minor in social work pre- professional practice. She plans to work at a nonpro t in the Frederick area before beginning graduate studies in social work. She would like to extend her thanks to Hood College and all of the professors, faculty and friends who helped her reach her goals.

Erinn, from Bangor, Pennsylvania, is a graduating senior with a major in sociology and minors in both mathematics and studio arts. She plans to pursue a master’s degree in public administration and has accepted a position working as a disability advocate at a local nonpro t.

The Alumni Award for Social Work Excellence, established in 2015 by Linda Hecklinger Procter ’81, P’08 and Lauren Procter ’08, is given annually to the senior social work major who demonstrates excellence in the social work program. Caroline Kinna is this year’s recipient.

Caroline is a social work major, a member of the Phi Alpha social work honor society and the Chi Alpha Sigma student- athlete honor society, as well as the president of the Hood College Student Social Work Organization. Caroline is passionate in her pursuit and commitment to social justice and human rights for all people. Caroline will be attending the graduate program at the University of Maryland School of Social Work, with advanced standing this fall.