Borrowing privileges are extended to currently enrolled Hood students, faculty, staff, members of the Board of Trustees and the Board of Associates as outlined below.
In addition to the books in the library at Hood, books may also be borrowed from our consortium partners in MIC (Maryland Interlibrary Consortium): Washington Adventist University (formerly Columbia Union College), Loyola University and Notre Dame College, Mount Saint Mary's University, and Stevenson University. Learn how to borrow from our consortium partner libraries.
A library barcode is required to borrow books from Hood or from our consortium partners. To register for a library barcode, visit the circulation desk on the 1st floor of the library. Please bring a Hood ID or proof of class registration with you.
A library barcode is also needed when accessing databases from off-campus.
Loan period for books:
- Undergratuate Students, Staff and Board Members: 28 days
- Graduate Students and Faculty: 120 days
- Undergraduate students: 25 item limit
- Graduate students: 50 item limit
- Faculty: 200 item limit
- Staff: 50 item limit
Loan Periods for iPads
Students and faculty may check out iPads from the circulation desk. The loan period is one week. iPads cannot be put on hold or renewed. There are a limited number of iPads available for borrowing. Please see our iPad policy for more information.
Loan Periods for Videos and DVDs
Students may check out up to two videos or DVDs from the Hood library for up to three days. The items must be returned before the library closes on the due date. Fines will accrue at $1.00 per day after the due date for unreturned items. Videos and DVDs may also be viewed using the A/V stations located on 2nd and 3rd floors of the library.
Faculty and staff may borrow up to two videos or DVDs from the Hood library for up to one week. Exceptions to the loan period and limits are available for items needed for teaching purposes.
Loan Periods for Music CDs
Students may check out up to two music CDs from the Hood library on any day prior to one half hour before closing. The items can be checked out for up to three days and must be returned before the library closes on the due date. Fines will accrue at $1.00 per day after the due date for unreturned items.
Hood and Consortium books may be renewed one time for 28 days on or before the due date. A renewal may be placed online through ShaRC, the online catalog, by clicking on Account. Hood and Consortium books may also be renewed by phone at 301-696-3709, by e-mail or in person at the circulation desk.
Books that are 30 days or more overdue cannot be renewed. "Best Sellers" may not be renewed.
If a book you need is checked out, a "Hold" can be placed on it at the Circulation Desk. The item will be set aside when it is returned and you will be notified when it is ready to be picked up. The current borrower cannot renew a book if a "Hold" has been placed on it.
Occasionally, the library may need to recall a book and will contact the borrower with a new due date. If the book is not returned by the new due date, a fine of $1 per day will accrue until the book is returned. If the book has not been returned within 10 days, the unreturned item policy will apply, though unpaid fines (up to 10 days after the new due date) will still be applicable.
Fines and Overdue Books
Fines are not charged on overdue books, except for recalls, reserve items and reference books. Borrowing privileges and access to the library databases will be suspended if a patron has five or more overdue books. Privileges will be reinstated when all the items have been returned
A book is declared "Unreturned" if it is not returned by 30 days after the due date. A borrower having an "Unreturned Book" may not check out or renew any other books. For each "Unreturned Book," the borrower will be billed the replacement cost of the book, plus a $25 Processing Fee. The replacement cost will be determined by a member of our Acquisitions staff. We cannot accept replacements that have been purchased by the patron. If an "Unreturned Book" is later found, we cannot refund the processing fee or the replacement fee. The fees and procedure for Consortium-owned "Unreturned Books" are as above.
Professors place books, journal articles and other items "On Reserve" at the circulation desk in the library for the shared use of students in a specific class.
A Reserve item must be returned directly to a staff member at the circulation desk. Do not place a Reserve item in the outside book drop. Overdue fines will accrue at $1 per hour for each hour or fraction thereof until the Reserve item is discharged from the borrower's record.
In-Library and Overnight Reserves
At the discretion of a professor, "In-Library Reserves" may be taken out one-half hour before the library closes. Reserves are due promptly at 9 a.m. the next day. Reserves checked out on Friday are due by 11 a.m. Saturday. Reserves checked out on Saturday are due by 4:30 p.m. on Sunday. Overdue fines accrue at $1 per hour, or fraction thereof, until the reserves are discharged from the borrower's record.
24-Hour Reserves and 72-Hour Reserves may be checked out anytime the library is open. The circulation period begins when the item is charged to the borrower and ends after the specified period (24 or 72 hours).
Overnight Reference Books Policy
At the discretion of the reference librarian on duty, a reference book will be allowed to circulate one hour before the library closes. The book must be returned to the library within the first hour after the library opens on the next library business day following the day the material was taken out.
The following restrictions apply:
- "Ready-reference" titles kept at the reference desk do not circulate.
- Materials that are being heavily used for a class assignment (as determined by the reference librarian on duty) will not circulate.
- Individual volumes from sets of reference books do not circulate.
- Students may borrow only one reference book at a time.
These books must be returned directly to a librarian at the reference desk. Do not place them in the outside book drop. Overdue fines will accrue at the rate of $1 per hour for each hour or fraction thereof until the books are returned.