The Hood History Museum, an outgrowth of the College
Archives, was established in 2007 through generous gifts from Robert C.
McCardell and the Delaplaine Foundation, as well as from alumnae and friends of
the College. The Museum is intended to
be a place where visitors can see documents and artifacts that illustrate
Hood’s rich history and traditions, in a space designed to be reminiscent of
the office of Hood’s first president, Dr. Joseph Henry Apple. Indeed, Dr. Apple’s working desk is one of
the centerpieces of the exhibit.
Other items on display include portraits of some of the founding
fathers of the College; a 100-year-old doll, given by Anne Colliver of
Frederick; selected artwork of Helen Smith, renowned Frederick artist and
former Hood faculty member; a sampling of “dinks,” the beanies that Hood
freshmen have worn for generations; a voluminous gym suit from around 1915 or
1920; Apple family memorabilia; Campus Day dolls from the early 1930s and much
The Museum is open by appointment. Please call 301-696-3934 to arrange your