Please Wait. Loading Menu...


American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages (ACTFL)
The American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages (ACTFL) is the only national organization dedicated to the improvement and expansion of the teaching and learning of all languages at all levels of instruction. ACTFL is an individual membership organization of more than 9,000 foreign language educators and administrators from elementary through graduate education, as well as government and industry.

Association for Childhood Education International (ACEI)
The Association for Childhood Education International (ACEI) promotes the inherent rights, education and well-being of all children in their home, school and community. Encouraging the continuous professional growth of educators, the association works to raise the standard of preparation for those actively involved with the care and development of children.

Council for Exceptional Children (CEC)
The Council for Exceptional Children (CEC) is the largest international professional organization dedicated to improving educational outcomes for individuals with exceptionalities, students with disabilities, and/or the gifted. CEC advocates for appropriate governmental policies, sets professional standards, provides continual professional development, advocates for newly and historically underserved individuals with exceptionalities, and helps professionals obtain conditions and resources necessary for effective professional practice.

Educational Testing Service (ETS)
The Educational Testing Service (ETS) is a nonprofit organization that strives to advance quality and equity in education by providing fair and valid assessments, research, and related services. This organization provides The Praxis Series, a set of rigorous and validated assessments that provides accurate, reliable information for use by state education agencies in making licensing decisions for teacher certification.

Interstate New Teacher Assessment and Support Consortium (INTASC)
The Interstate New Teacher Assessment and Support Consortium (INTASC) is a consortium of state education agencies and national educational organizations dedicated to the reform of the preparation, licensing, and ongoing professional development of teachers. Created in 1987, INTASC's primary constituency is state education agencies responsible for teacher licensing, program approval, and professional development. Its work is guided by one basic premise: An effective teacher must be able to integrate content knowledge with the specific strengths and needs of students to assure that all students learn and perform at high levels.

National Council for the Social Studies (NCSS)
The National Council for the Social Studies (NCSS) is the largest association in the country devoted solely to social studies education, engaging and supporting educators in strengthening and advocating social studies. Membership is open to anyone with interest in the social studies.

The National Art Education Association (NAEA)
Founded in 1947, this organization has over 22,000 art educators from every level of instruction: early childhood, elementary, intermediate, secondary, college /university, administration, museum education, and the art industry. Its mission is to promote art education through professional development, service, advancement of knowledge, and leadership. NAEA is a nonprofit, educational organization.

The National Council of Teachers of English (NCTE) with 77,000 individual and institutional members worldwide, NCTE is dedicated to improving the teaching and learning of English and the language arts at all levels of education. Its membership is composed of elementary, middle, and high school teachers, supervisors of English programs, college and university faculty, teacher educators, local and state agency English specialists, and professionals in related fields.

The National Council of Teachers of Mathematics is a public voice of mathematics education, providing vision, leadership and professional development to support teachers in ensuring equitable mathematics learning of the highest quality for all students.

The International Reading Association
Since 1956, IRA has been a nonprofit, global network of individuals and institutions committed to worldwide literacy. More than 70,000 members strong, the Association supports literacy professionals through a wide range of resources, advocacy efforts, volunteerism, and professional development activities. Our members promote high levels of literacy for all by:

  • improving the quality of reading instruction
  • disseminating research and information about reading
  • encouraging the lifetime reading habit

National Science Teachers Association
The National Science Teachers Association (NSTA), founded in 1944 and headquartered in Arlington, Virginia, is the largest organization in the world committed to promoting excellence and innovation in science teaching and learning for all. NSTA's current 55,000 members include science teachers, science supervisors, administrators, scientists, business and industry representatives, and others involved in and committed to science education.

The National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC) is the nation's largest organization of early childhood professionals and others dedicated to improving the quality of early childhood education programs for children birth through age eight. Founded in 1926, membership is includes a national network of more than 400 local, state, and regional early childhood organizations affiliated with NAEYC. NAEYC Affiliate Groups share and help to implement NAEYC's primary goals of improving professional practice and working conditions in early childhood education and building public understanding and support for high quality early childhood programs.

Maryland State Department of Education (MSDE) this online resource provides information on Maryland’s preK-12 public education, public libraries, and rehabilitation services. One of the services is to provide information about Maryland’s Voluntary State Curriculum. This curriculum defines what students should know and be able to do at each grade, pre-K through 8, in four content areas: reading/English language arts, mathematics, science, and social studies. It also defines what students should know and be able to do in tenth-grade reading. Maryland Teacher Technology Standards (MTTS) are also outlined on this site.