Distinguished Alumni Award

In 2018, the Distinguished Alumni Award was presented to Kim F. Hall '83, Ph.D. and Leslie A. Hawkins '73.

Kim Hall graduated from Hood in 1983 with a bachelor’s degree in English. She earned her doctorate from the University of Pennsylvania in 1990. Kim serves as the Lucyle Hook Chair of English and is a Professor of Africana Studies at Barnard College. She held previous teaching positions at Fordham University, Georgetown University, Swarthmore College and the University of Pennsylvania. A renowned Shakespeare scholar, Kim served as a visiting faculty member at the Folger Shakespeare Library. In 2016, she was named one of 25 “Women Making a Difference in Higher Education and Beyond” by the website Diverse: Issues in Higher Education. She islisted in “Who’s Who of American Women”as well as “Who’s Who Among African Americans. In her spare time, Kim is an avid quilter and was once awarded “Quilter of the Month” at the Seminole Sampler Quilt Shop in Baltimore. A few of her quilts are on exhibit at the Duke Forum for Scholars and Publics.

Leslie Hawkins graduated in 1973. A Spanish major at Hood, she spent a year of service as an Americorps VISTA volunteer learning about public health issues. That paved the way for  her graduate work in health care administration. She earned a master’s degree from George Washington University in 1978. Her successful career in health care administration has taken her from Maine to Washington State to Arizona where she has served as president and chief administrator at several hospitals. Recently retired after 40 years in the health care industry, Leslie is a life fellow for the American College of Healthcare Executives and a fellow for the America College of Medical Practice Executives. She currently lives in Tucson, Arizona.


2017Ellen B. Drogin Rodgers ’82, Ph.D. and Ashley Norris Barthlow ’92, DVM
2016Peter W. Cha ’81, D.D.S. and Martha Thomas, M.D., ’71, P’99, P’09
2015Rev. Margaret Muncie '70 and Professor Aldan Weinberg '75
2014Mary Jo Sottile Manning '64, J.D., and Carolyn Cantagalli Dumaresq '69, Ed.D.
2013Christine L. McHenry, M.D. '73 
2012The Honorable Donald E. Beachley '77 and Lt. Colonel Virginia Procino Hartmann '72
2011Patricia Chapple Wright, Ph.D. '66, H '90 and Joan B. Gillece, Ph.D. '76 
2010Ruth Whitaker Holmes, Ph.D. '55, H '93 and Portia Whitaker Shumaker '55
2009Carol Lumb Allen '59, Martha Shortiss Allen '59, Gayle Hamilton Blakeslee '59, Janet Hobbs Cotton '59, Edith Howard Hogan '59 and Nancy Rogers Huntsinger '59
2008Susan Warshaw Stinson '68, Ed.D., Harriet Fox Riehl '68 
2007Susan Gearey Van Pelt '79, Judith Stohr Gavaler '61 
2006Eleanor Gambrill Bowers '46, Anna Hart Johnson-Winegar '76 
2005Nancy McAdams Baggett '65
2004Lois White Lowry '54
2003Phyllis Chamberlin Hutson '55
2002Jane Kulla Boorstein '49
2001Lois Vars Mason '51
2000Ruth Whitaker Holmes '55
1999Georgia Shank Vance '32
1998Doris Reininger DeHart '48
1997Bonnie Kloeblen Hagerman '66
1996Helvise Glessner Morse '46
1995F.Baird Wigton Lloyd '57
1994Dianne Beebe Barske '66
1993Patricia Kienzle Ross '65
1992Betty Pickell Cleaver '44
1991Ruth Duff Eager '41
1990Adamadia Deforest '55
1989Nancy Tressel Brown '57
1988Beryl Ann Pfizer '49
1987Eva Sayegh Teig '65
1986Anna May Wilson Hughes '39
1985M. Jacqueline McCurdy '55
1984Sally Herman Lunt '52
1983Mary Edith Tatem Williams '45
1982Margaret Grim Smith '28
1981Esther Hottenstein '29
1980Charlotte Baker King '10