Excellence in Service to Hood College Award

The 2018 recipient of the Excellence in Service Award was Charlotte Sizoo Whitenight '68.

Whitenight graduated from Hood in 1968 with a bachelor’s degree in history. She went on to earn a master’s degree in philosophy from the University of Glasgow in Scotland. For 50 years, Charlotte has served Hood through numerous volunteer roles including leadership positions with the former Alumnae Association. She has served as the leader for the campaign to establish the diversity scholarship in memory of classmate Linda Wyatt Chissell. In addition to her relentless dedication to Hood, Charlotte serves as an associate for the Baltimore Symphony and a docent at the Baltimore Museum of Art. She is retired from the Social Security Administration and is currently an antique dealer in Baltimore and an avid traveler.

2017Virginia Price Bracken ’67
2016Kurt Holter ’76 and Judith E. Messina ’66
2015Eva Sayegh Teig Hardy '65 and Audrey Heyman Rooney '60
2013Gretchen Howe Russo '63 and Philip W. Bowers '83
2012Barbara Cummings Stacks '67 and Barbara Thomas Yinger '57
2011Janet Spaulding Nunn '61
2010Jean Righter Bolle '50 and Margaret "Peg" Lewis Christensen '52
2008Louise Renninger Rittenhouse '48
2007Erma Stull Grove '44 
2006Susan Peters Wirths '56 
2005Lavenia Hargett Marsh '36
2004Tibetha Owen '90
2003Beulah Munshower Sommer '44
2002Joanne Kates Roos '52
2001Helene Schmauch Schaeffer '37
2000Mildred K. Binder '40
1999Rosel Hoffberger Schewel '49
1998Frances A. Delaplaine Randall '45
1997Alice Elizabeth McCain McAlpine '51
1996Elisabeth Farber Neubauer '45
1995Ruth Brenneman Frantz '30
1994Mary Rockwell Hovet '38
1993A. Louise Funk Beachley '28
1992Natalie Colbert Bowers '52
1991Audrey Eyler Bauman '43
1990Penny Probert Boorman '55
1989Ann Weisburger Lebherz '47
1988Christine Plankenhorn Tischer '65
1987Julia Etchison Hanna '19 and Elizabeth Lewis Peters '19
1986Dorothy Ann Moore Stamm '31
1985Claire Reese Egolf '28
1984Edith Howard Hogan '59
1983Barbara Campbell Rickman '63, M.A. '75
1982Hildegarde Pilgram '31
1981Eleanor Wilson Maurer '30
1980Ruth Carty Delaplaine '13
1979Frances Good Bowers '27
1978Lois Smith Harrison '45
1977Fannie Magee Miller '27
1976Antoinette Tatem Driscoll '26
1975M. Eleanor MacMillan Nelson '32
1974Emily Apple Payne '24
1973Sarah Leiter Remsberg '37
1972Elizabeth A. Geiser '47
1971Ruth Yost Snyder '36
1970Catherine Baldwin Hoffman '37
1969Sonya Solosko Baum '59
1968Mary Grace Helfenstein '22
1967Elizabeth Helper Taylor '32