Excellence in Service to Hood College Award

The 2021 recipient of the Excellence in Service Award is Virginia Turnbull Hecklinger '56, P'81, G'08.

“Ginny” as she’s known by one and all on Hood’s campus, and throughout the Frederick community, truly personifies the spirit of this award. Her service to Hood began shortly after graduation and has continued to this day. Ginny has devoted many hours to Hood in such roles as docent for The Hood History Museum, a Phone-a-Thon volunteer, Class Agent, and a multi-year Reunion Chair. She served on the Board of Associates from 2006-2010, and was the 1956 Class Representative at both President Ron Volpe’s and President Andrea Chapdelaine’s inaugurations. Besides giving freely of her time, she has consistently supported many fundraising projects for the College such as the renovation of Shriner Hall. Ginny is as a member of the Pergola Society, The President’s Club, Wisteria Circle, Touchstone, Gambrill, and Martha E. Church giving societies. Ginny has also spoken often on behalf of Hood about her philanthropic efforts, encouraging other Hood alumni to give back to the College, most recently in 2020 in support of the Hood Fund. Frederick has also benefited from Ginny’s community spirit as demonstrated through her volunteerism with her church, and as a pre-school consultant with the Association for the Education of Young Children. But, if you were to ask Ginny to name true legacy to Hood, there is no doubt that she would say it is her daughter Linda Hecklinger Procter ’81, and her granddaughter Lauren V. Procter ’08, both of whom she is very Hood Proud.

2021Virginia Turnbull Hecklinger '56, P'81, G'08
2020Maryann Whitehead Scherzo, 1960 and Karin Ninesling Infuso, 1970
2019Magaly Mauras Green ’74, M.A.’79 and The Class of 1969 Board of Trustee Members: Cheryl Brown Dreiling ’69, H’13, Joan Esselen Foot ’69, Gail L. Gamble ’69, H’93, M.D., Carol Crofoot Hayes ’69, Esq., Deborah Jones Lash ’69, Esq.
2018Charlotte Sizoo Whitenight '68
2017Virginia Price Bracken ’67
2016Kurt Holter ’76 and Judith E. Messina ’66
2015Eva Sayegh Teig Hardy '65 and Audrey Heyman Rooney '60
2013Gretchen Howe Russo '63 and Philip W. Bowers '83
2012Barbara Cummings Stacks '67 and Barbara Thomas Yinger '57
2011Janet Spaulding Nunn '61
2010Jean Righter Bolle '50 and Margaret "Peg" Lewis Christensen '52
2008Louise Renninger Rittenhouse '48
2007Erma Stull Grove '44 
2006Susan Peters Wirths '56 
2005Lavenia Hargett Marsh '36
2004Tibetha Owen '90
2003Beulah Munshower Sommer '44
2002Joanne Kates Roos '52
2001Helene Schmauch Schaeffer '37
2000Mildred K. Binder '40
1999Rosel Hoffberger Schewel '49
1998Frances A. Delaplaine Randall '45
1997Alice Elizabeth McCain McAlpine '51
1996Elisabeth Farber Neubauer '45
1995Ruth Brenneman Frantz '30
1994Mary Rockwell Hovet '38
1993A. Louise Funk Beachley '28
1992Natalie Colbert Bowers '52
1991Audrey Eyler Bauman '43
1990Penny Probert Boorman '55
1989Ann Weisburger Lebherz '47
1988Christine Plankenhorn Tischer '65
1987Julia Etchison Hanna '19 and Elizabeth Lewis Peters '19
1986Dorothy Ann Moore Stamm '31
1985Claire Reese Egolf '28
1984Edith Howard Hogan '59
1983Barbara Campbell Rickman '63, M.A. '75
1982Hildegarde Pilgram '31
1981Eleanor Wilson Maurer '30
1980Ruth Carty Delaplaine '13
1979Frances Good Bowers '27
1978Lois Smith Harrison '45
1977Fannie Magee Miller '27
1976Antoinette Tatem Driscoll '26
1975M. Eleanor MacMillan Nelson '32
1974Emily Apple Payne '24
1973Sarah Leiter Remsberg '37
1972Elizabeth A. Geiser '47
1971Ruth Yost Snyder '36
1970Catherine Baldwin Hoffman '37
1969Sonya Solosko Baum '59
1968Mary Grace Helfenstein '22
1967Elizabeth Helper Taylor '32