Outstanding Recent Alumni Award

The 2022 recipient of the Outstanding Recent Alumna award is Katie Chick '07.

Katie was nominated by her peers because of her notable career advancements in human resources since graduating in 2007. She progressed from a coordinator to director in record time compared to her HR industry peers. While focused on building her career, Katie has been a constant promoter for Hood, touting her campus experiences and degree as being instrumental to her success.  Recently appointed as president of the Mortar Board National Organization, in her acceptance remarks, Katie stated emphatically that her involvement in the Hood chapter of MB is what set her on her “path to the presidency.”

Katie continues to be active in other community activities, most notably acting as volunteer human resources advisor with the DC chapter of StreetWise Partners, a nonprofit organization that pairs mentees with unemployed or underemployed to provide them with the skills, resources and access to networks they need to secure and maintain employment. Katie keeps busy in her career and volunteer work, she has stayed consistently engaged with Hood, serving as a panelist on career center events, as Class Agent, and as a member of the Century Society.  To quote her classmate Rebecca Rittenhouse Dupont, “Katie truly lives the Hood ideals of responsibility, leadership, service and civic engagement. She deserves the acknowledgement she so rarely seeks.”

2022Katie Chick '07
2021Tiera M. Hawkes '11
2020MaameYaa T. Boafo '05


Adrianne Wells Washington ’04
2018Shahrzad Ehdaivand Slater '03, M.D.
2017Zeppa Kreager ’12
2016Amber P. Miller ’06
2014Michelle Donati-Grayman '04 and Chanda Gilmore '04
2013Tiffany Taylor Newmuis '03
2012Jennifer A. Cinclair '02
2011Kelly M. Schulz '06
2010Heather Hamilton '95
2008Tina Wells '02
2007Carol Deck Montoya '94 
2006Rachel Paine Caufield '95
2005Dorothy-Ann Beatrice Lowe '98
2004Stacy Collins '89
2003Bernard Gerrard '91, M.S. '00
2002Marietta Geckos '84
2001Kerra Bolton Fisher '95
2000Not awarded in 2000
1999Kelly Huegel '96
1998Nancy Brady '83
1997Glynnis Edwards Cowdery '82
1996Jennifer Lee Matts '86
1995Carolyn Monto Barranca '82
1994Karen Shue '78
1993Joy Miller Beveridge '82
1992Kathleen Asser Weslock '77
1991Cherilyn Widell Kennedy '75
1990Carol King Heine '84
1989Leslie V. Miko '77
1988Winifred Renne King '79
1987Laura Ellen Tubbs '76
1986Elizabeth Anderson Comer '77
1985Mary Margaret Stevenson '73
1984Charlotte Miller Ponticelli '73 and Barbara Ann Lefchuk '73