Faculty Experts

Hood College faculty are available to provide expertise, analysis and commentary on a wide variety of news and research topics. Contact us for more information and follow us on Twitter to get a first look at our experts.

joyce.jpgJoyce Michaud
Professor of Art, Director of the MFA and Graduate Certificate in Ceramic Arts
jmichaud@hood.edu
301-696-3526

Art
Ceramic arts 

George.jpgGeorge Dimitigolou
Associate Professor of Computer Science
dimitoglou@hood.edu
301-696-3980

Computer science
Information technology
Robotics
Software engineering
Simulation 


Xianlin Liu
Associate Professor of Computer Science 
xliu@pluto.hood.edu
301-696-3981

Computer science
High-performance computing
Big data
Machine learning 

Cuddapah.jpgJennifer Locraft Cuddapah 
Associate Professor of Education and Coordinator of the Undergraduate Secondary Education Program
cuddapah@hood.edu
301-696-3773 

Education
Curriculum
Teaching
New teachers

christy.jpgChristy Graybeal
Associate Professor of Education and Mathematics
graybeal@hood.edu
301-696-3838 

Mathematics education (how to teach math)
Elementary and middle school education 
Fostering curiosity in children 
Teacher education 

daniel.jpgDaniel Shea
Visiting Instructor of Education; Program Director of the Educational Leadership Program
shea@hood.edu 
301-696-3766 

Certification of State of Maryland Public School K-12 Administrators

Tricia Strickland
Associate Professor of Education
Director of the Center for Teaching and Learning
strickland@hood.edu 
301-696-3553 

Special education policy
Special education instruction
Mathematics instruction for students with disabilities (grades 1 – 12)
Classroom organization and behavior management (grades 1 – 12)

marisel.jpgMarisel Torres-Crespo
Assistant Professor of Education
torrescrespo@hood.edu 
301-696-3416 

Elementary and early childhood education 
STEM in early childhood education
Onica Prall Lab school 

erin.jpgErin George
Assistant Professor of Economics
george@hood.edu
301-696-3258

Microeconomics
Gender economics 
Labor economics 

lisa.jpgLisa Algazi Marcus
Professor of French 
marcus@hood.edu
301-696-3476 

French language, culture, literature 
19th-century French literature 
Women and gender studies; motherhood studies; gender identity; transgender studies; parenting a transgender child

Corey%20Campion.jpgCorey Campion
Assistant Professor of History and Global Studies Director, M.A. in Humanities
campion@hood.edu
301-696-3227 

European Politics, History, and Culture (especially France and Germany)
American-European Relations
Globalization and Americanization
Humanities in Higher Education
Beekeeping 

paige.jpgPaige W. Eager
Professor of Political Science
eager@hood.edu
301-696-3699 

International affairs
Terrorism 
U.S. foreign policy 
Women in the military 

carin.jpgCarin Robinson
Associate Professor of Political Science
robinsonc@hood.edu
301-696-3719

American politics (campaigns, elections, public policy, the president, etc.)
Public opinion 
Intersection of religion and politics 

terry.jpgTerry Anne Scott
Assistant Professor of History
scottt@hood.edu
301-696-3269 

African American history 
Race and sports 
Civil rights 
Racial tension and mass incarceration 

Tamelyn.jpgTamelyn Tucker-Worgs
Associate Professor of Political Science and African American Studies, Chair of the Department of Political Science
tuckerworgs@hood.edu
301-696-3686

American politics
Race 
Gender, religion and politics 
Black church and politics 

Hoda M. Zaki
Virginia E. Lewis Professor of Political Science
hzaki@hood.edu
301-696-3697 

Politics and Black studies
Elections 
Nonprofit organizations 
Civic engagement 

AprilB.jpgApril Boulton
Associate Professor of Biology and Dean of the Graduate School
boulton@hood.edu
301-696-3612

Insects and pollinators 
Insect predator-prey dynamics 
Environmental issues
Climate change 

Miranda.jpgMiranda Darby
Assistant Professor of Bioinformatics and Director of the Bioinformatics M.S. and Certificate Programs
darby@hood.edu
301-696-3650

Bioinformatics 
Next-generation sequencing 
Big data 

Jen Krishnaswamy
Adjunct Instructor in Biology

Neuroscience
Vision

Shannon M. A. Kundey
Associate Professor of Psychology
kundey@hood.edu
301-696-3877 

Animal cognition (comparative cognition) 
Biopsychology 
Physiological psychology
Pattern learning 

Jerry.jpgJerrold Van Winter
Associate Professor of Management
vanwinter@hood.edu
301-696-3756 

Marketing 
Organizational behavior
International marketing