Campus Experts

Below is a list of campus experts, their areas of expertise and their contact information.

For the Campus

If you would like to be included on this page, please your name, title and areas of expertise to marketingoffice@hood.edu.

Fred Bohrer
Professor of Art and Archaeology
bohrer@hood.edu
301-696-3457

  • Monuments (including Civil War monuments)
  • Antiquities

David Hixson
Assistant Professor of Archaeology
hixson@hood.edu
301-696-3866

  • Archaeology
  • Anthropology
  • Cultural geography

Daehwan Kim
Assistant Professor of Biology
kimd@hood.edu
301-696-3287

  • Biofuels/bioproducts
  • Biochemical catalysis
  • Microbial fermentation
  • Bioprocess engineering

Lisa Littlefield
Dean, Center for Career Development and Experiential Education
littlefield@hood.edu
301-696-3583

  • College to careers
  • Post-grad success
  • Professional development
  • High-impact practices

George.jpgGeorge Dimitigolou
Associate Professor of Computer Science
dimitoglou@hood.edu
301-696-3980

  • Computer science
  • Information technology
  • Cybersecurity
  • Software engineering

Xianlin Liu
Associate Professor of Computer Science 
xliu@pluto.hood.edu
301-696-3981

  • Computer science
  • High-performance computing
  • Big data
  • Machine learning 

Kristine Calo
Associate Professor
calo@hood.edu
301-696-3463 

  • Literacy education (early childhood and elementary)
  • Social studies education (early childhood and elementary)
  • Early childhood education
  • Data-informed decision making in early childhood classrooms

Cuddapah.jpgJennifer Locraft Cuddapah 
Associate Professor of Education and Coordinator of the Undergraduate Secondary Education Program
cuddapah@hood.edu
301-696-3773 

  • Education
  • Curriculum
  • Teaching
  • New teachers

christy.jpgChristy Graybeal
Associate Professor of Education and Mathematics
graybeal@hood.edu
301-696-3838 

  • Mathematics education (how to teach math)
  • Elementary and middle school education 
  • Fostering curiosity in children 
  • Teacher education 

daniel.jpgDaniel Shea
Visiting Instructor of Education; Program Director of the Educational Leadership Program
shea@hood.edu 
301-696-3766 

  • Certification of State of Maryland Public School K-12 Administrators

Tricia Strickland
Associate Professor of Education
Director of the Center for Teaching and Learning
strickland@hood.edu 
301-696-3553 

  • Special education policy
  • Special education instruction
  • Mathematics instruction for students with disabilities (grades 1 – 12)
  • Classroom organization and behavior management (grades 1 – 12)

marisel.jpgMarisel Torres-Crespo
Assistant Professor of Education
torrescrespo@hood.edu 
301-696-3416 

  • Elementary and early childhood education 
  • STEM in early childhood education
  • Onica Prall Lab school 

lisa.jpgLisa Algazi Marcus
Professor of French 
marcus@hood.edu
301-696-3476 

  • French language, culture, literature 
  • 19th-century French literature 
  • Women and gender studies; motherhood studies; gender identity; transgender studies; parenting a transgender child

Isa Rivera
Adjunct Instructor in Spanish
rivera@hood.edu

  • Spanish language
  • Spanish narrative
  • Spanish literature
  • Hispanic culture, especially Puerto Rico

Alan Goldenbach
Assistant Professor of Journalism
goldenbach@hood.edu
301-696-3291

  • Misinformation and the challenges of distinguishing truth from fiction and the reliable from the unreliable
  • How all types of mass media impact society
  • Journalism practices (both in the textual and broadcast media)
  • Ethics across all media (journalism, public relations, advertising, marketing)
  • Media law, especially related to intellectual property in the digital age, and the First Amendment
  • Sports journalism and communication, including media relations and crisis response in the sports industries and historical elements of the profession.

Katherine Orloff
Associate Professor of Journalism
orloff@hood.edu
301-696-3746

  • Performing arts
  • Movies and TV

Mark Sandona
Professor of English
sandona@hood.edu
301-696-3747

  • Renaissance literature
  • Renaissance art
  • William Shakespeare
  • Giotto
  • Dante

Corey%20Campion.jpgCorey Campion
Associate Professor of History and Global Studies Director, M.A. in Humanities
campion@hood.edu
301-696-3227 

  • European Politics, History, and Culture (especially France and Germany)
  • American-European Relations
  • Globalization and Americanization
  • Humanities in Higher Education
  • Beekeeping 

paige.jpgPaige W. Eager
Professor of Political Science
eager@hood.edu
301-696-3699 

  • International affairs
  • Terrorism 
  • U.S. foreign policy 
  • Women in the military 

carin.jpgCarin Robinson
Associate Professor of Political Science
robinsonc@hood.edu
301-696-3719

  • American politics (campaigns, elections, public policy, the president, etc.)
  • Public opinion 
  • Intersection of religion and politics 

terry.jpgTerry Anne Scott
Associate Professor of History
scottt@hood.edu
301-696-3269 

  • African American history 
  • Race and sports 
  • Civil rights 
  • Racial tension and mass incarceration 

Tamelyn.jpgTamelyn Tucker-Worgs
Associate Professor of Political Science and African American Studies, Chair of the Department of Political Science
tuckerworgs@hood.edu
301-696-3686

  • American politics
  • Race 
  • Gender, religion and politics 
  • Black church and politics 

Toby Peterson
Library Director
peterson@hood.edu
301-696-3934

  • Equitable access
  • Open access
  • Diversity in services and resources
  • Sustainable library practices (environmentally sound, economically feasible and socially equitable)

AprilB.jpgApril Boulton
Associate Professor of Biology and Dean of the Graduate School
boulton@hood.edu
301-696-3612

  • Insects and pollinators 
  • Insect predator-prey dynamics 
  • Environmental issues
  • Climate change 

Miranda.jpgMiranda Darby
Assistant Professor of Bioinformatics and Director of the Bioinformatics M.S. and Certificate Programs
darby@hood.edu
301-696-3650

  • Bioinformatics 
  • Next-generation sequencing 
  • Big data 

Jen Krishnaswamy
Adjunct Instructor in Biology

  • Neuroscience
  • Vision

Shannon M. A. Kundey
Associate Professor of Psychology
kundey@hood.edu
301-696-3877 

  • Animal cognition (comparative cognition) 
  • Biopsychology 
  • Physiological psychology
  • Pattern learning 

Jerry.jpgJerrold Van Winter
Associate Professor of Management
vanwinter@hood.edu
301-696-3756 

  • Marketing 
  • Organizational behavior
  • International marketing 

Jennifer Cooper
Assistant Professor of Nursing
campbell@hood.edu
301-696-3764 

  • Counselor development
  • Mindfulness
  • Social media

Andrew Campbell
Assistant Professor of Psychology and Counseling
cooper@hood.edu
301-696-3219 

  • Community/public health nursing
  • Chronic disease prevention and management