Outstanding Recent Alumni Award

Outstanding Recent Alumni Award 2023

Spencer Knoll

Spencer Knoll '13

Spencer was a star at Hood and continues to shine. Just recently, Spencer was named Director of U.S. Policy and Advocacy at Malaria No More, an international NGO working to end malaria. Prior to this position, Spencer spent six years as an aide to U.S. Senator Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.), where he advised the Senator on national security and foreign policy. While on Capitol Hill, Spencer authored major legislation that was signed into law by President Biden to improve retention in the Foreign Service. He also shepherded the passage of legislation to reduce military training fatalities and ensure that students do not lose the opportunity to attend a U.S. service academy because of a vacancy in Congress. He successfully secured the Prisoner of War Medal for three veterans who had been denied this recognition for 50 years.Through his work with Senator Van Hollen, Spencer helped to secure hundreds of millions of dollars to support federal facilities and programs across Maryland, including $1million for Hood College to support Data Driven Frederick and the Biomedical Research and Training Center.

While a student at Hood, Spencer was active with the Maryland Student Legislature and served on his Class Council. A Tischer Scholar and participant in the Honors Program, he also volunteered on political campaigns and interned in the office of former U.S. Senator Barbara Mikulski (D-Md.). Today, Spencer serves on the Hood College Alumni Executive Board; is a member of the Foreign Policy for America NextGen Initiative; and chairs the Board of Directors of the Maryland Student Legislature, an Annapolis-based nonprofit that prepares college students for lives of public service. Earlier this year, he was appointed to the City of Rockville’s Cultural Arts Commission by the Mayor. Spencer earned his B.A. in Political Science from Hood. He also holds a M.A. from the Georgetown University Walsh School of Foreign Service. He lives in Rockville with his wife, Lauren.

2022Katie Chick '07
2021Tiera M. Hawkes '11
2020MaameYaa T. Boafo '05


Adrianne Wells Washington ’04
2018Shahrzad Ehdaivand Slater '03, M.D.
2017Zeppa Kreager ’12
2016Amber P. Miller ’06
2014Michelle Donati-Grayman '04 and Chanda Gilmore '04
2013Tiffany Taylor Newmuis '03
2012Jennifer A. Cinclair '02
2011Kelly M. Schulz '06
2010Heather Hamilton '95
2008Tina Wells '02
2007Carol Deck Montoya '94 
2006Rachel Paine Caufield '95
2005Dorothy-Ann Beatrice Lowe '98
2004Stacy Collins '89
2003Bernard Gerrard '91, M.S. '00
2002Marietta Geckos '84
2001Kerra Bolton Fisher '95
2000Not awarded in 2000
1999Kelly Huegel '96
1998Nancy Brady '83
1997Glynnis Edwards Cowdery '82
1996Jennifer Lee Matts '86
1995Carolyn Monto Barranca '82
1994Karen Shue '78
1993Joy Miller Beveridge '82
1992Kathleen Asser Weslock '77
1991Cherilyn Widell Kennedy '75
1990Carol King Heine '84
1989Leslie V. Miko '77
1988Winifred Renne King '79
1987Laura Ellen Tubbs '76
1986Elizabeth Anderson Comer '77
1985Mary Margaret Stevenson '73
1984Charlotte Miller Ponticelli '73 and Barbara Ann Lefchuk '73